Well, I survived. Chest cold and all. I really had no idea what to expect given the unfamiliarity of the course, the limited amount of training I crammed in after the month-long vacation, and of course, the aforementioned chest cold. Turns out the result was neither stellar nor disastrous. I was a good 11 1/2 minutes off my personal record but it was set on a much flatter course in Central Park. I really can’t overemphasize the magnitude and abundance of hills on the San Francisco 1st Half Marathon (it was also a full marathon but you could choose which half you wanted to run – the 1st half was considerably more hilly). Oof.

As expected, the Golden Gate Bridge was the highlight of the run. The steep approach was absolutely spectacular as the bridge was shrouded in early morning fog. Then there was the nearly 5 miles across the bridge to Marin County and back. While the fog obscured much of the bay and city views, it was still a tremendous feeling to be running in the traffic lane across such a famed landmark. It was also fun to see the the elite runners blowing past on the other side of the course on the bridge. It was at this time I also saw some of the most hardcore people I have ever encountered – a group of guys wearing nothing but running shorts. That’s right, forget the Five Fingers phenomenon, these guys were sans shoes and socks. Owww.

After the bridge came a jaunt through the Presidio which provided a welcome respite from the hills. But just when I thought I was home free the course cut into the Richmond area of San Francisco, heading for Golden Gate Park. These hills were almost as bad as those around and on the bridge and decidedly less scenic, not to mention my legs and lungs were pretty pooped from the first 11 miles. I felt slightly better when a guy next to me shouted “enough with the hills already!” Good, it wasn’t just me that was dying. Into a misty Golden Gate Park we flew and towards the finish line. I was apparently so focused on the finish that I missed seeing my cheering section (thanks Mom and Bryant!) Upon finishing, I promptly broke into a fit of uncontrollable coughing. As I said in the beginning, not my best result, but I would take it. It was my 7th half marathon and first one not in relatively flat New York City. Moreover it was longest run thus far in my training for the New York City Marathon in November.

I think my body has decided to make me pay for putting it through the half marathon in its compromised state as I have been even sicker since Sunday with yesterday being the absolute worst (I didn’t even leave the apartment). As such I decided to rest on my half marathon laurels and put further training on hold until perhaps tomorrow.